top of page

What motivates you to make art?


It's been months since I picked up my favorite markers, pens and conté crayons. I could spout out a million good excuses for why I haven't made anything-- my daughter's schedule, moving and moving again, work demands, relationship issues, training for a race. But last Monday (memorial day) I had a few hours to myself and no money to buy my friend a 30th birthday gift, so I turned to what I know best---drawing. I worked for a few hours and then knew that it wasn't finished but somehow I would squeeze in sometime later in the week to complete the drawing.

Last night after my four year old daughter was sleeping and her lunch was made and the dog had been walked, I found a cozy spot, cracked open a Modelo and finished the drawing of my dear friend Nelle. And I reflected on what motivates me to create: people and their stories.

What motivates you? How long has it been since you made something?

If you need some inspiration and new techniques, try one of our summer classes. Sign up today!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

 

The CCBC community is big and diverse and the content you see here might not reflect the views of the college.
We reserve the right to delete content that is offensive. Please help us maintain a welcoming environment.

 

bottom of page